Département de musique

Visitez-nous en ligne à www.bhsjazz.org

Personnel

Karen Wells (Concert Band, Chamber Orchestra, Fondements de Bois, AP Theory, IB Musique): karenwells@berkeley.net

Mary Dougherty (Concert Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra, Fundamentals of Strings): marydougherty@berkeley.net

Sarah Cline (Jazz Lab I, Jazz Lab II, Jazz Ensemble, Fundamentals of Brass): sarahcline@berkeley.net

Cours offerts

Concert Orchestra (P) Année 10 Crédits

Dans cet ensemble d'entrée de gamme, instrumentistes à cordes étudier et réaliser les deux cordes et de la littérature d'orchestre complet ainsi que petit ensemble de musique, développer le savoir-faire et la maîtrise nécessaires pour mouler la musique dans une expression créative. Prérequis: Niveau de compétence fondamentale sur instrument à cordes d'orchestre. S'il vous plaît être conscient que les élèves de 9e et 10e dans les écoles AHA ou CAS ne seraient pas en mesure de prendre cette classe en raison de problèmes d'ordonnancement. 9e et 10 élèves peuvent auditionner pour le 0 º Chamber Orchestra en tant qu'alternative. Ce cours répond UC / CSU arts visuels et du spectacle (f) exigence.

Concert Band (P) Année 10 Crédits

Dans cette classe d'entrée de gamme, vent, Cuivres et percussions joueurs étudier et effectuer la littérature orchestre / pep ainsi que la littérature d'orchestre, développer le savoir-faire et la maîtrise nécessaires pour mouler la musique dans une expression créative. S'il vous plaît être conscient que les élèves de 9e et 10e dans les écoles AHA ou CAS ne seraient pas en mesure de prendre cette classe en raison de problèmes d'ordonnancement. 9e et 10 élèves peuvent auditionner pour le º Chambre Section Ensemble à vent 0 Orchestra comme une alternative. Prérequis: Niveau de compétence fondamentale sur l'énergie éolienne, laiton ou en instrument de percussion. Ce cours répond UC / CSU arts visuels et du spectacle (f) exigence.

Chamber Orchestra (P) Année 10 Crédits

2 sections offertes: Wind ensemble section/ String ensemble section.

Dans cet ensemble auditionné, Chaîne de niveau supérieur, vent, Cuivres et percussions joueurs étudier et effectuer la littérature orchestrale et de chambre, le cas échéant, développer le savoir-faire et la maîtrise nécessaires pour mouler la musique dans une expression créative. Les élèves de cet ensemble peuvent s'attendre à avoir de nombreuses opportunites pour effectuer tout au long. Prérequis: Audition et le consentement de l'enseignant. Ce cours répond UC / CSU arts visuels et du spectacle (f) exigence.

Fondements de Bois Année 10 Crédits

Dans cette classe de base, les étudiants qui ont peu ou pas d'expérience sur un instrument à vent peuvent acquérir l'expérience nécessaire pour passer à un niveau ensemble de l'école secondaire d'entrée. L'enseignement sera offert à la flûte, clarinette, saxophone, hautbois ou basson. Nous allons jouer de la musique dans une variété de styles, et d'écouter régulièrement des enregistrements de grands joueurs à vent. Les étudiants n'ont pas besoin de lire la musique pour entrer dans cette catégorie; ils vont apprendre à lire dans le cadre des objectifs de classe. Les étudiants sont tenus de participer à deux concerts par année. Les instruments sont fournis.

Ce cours répond UC / CSU arts visuels et du spectacle (f) exigence.

Principes de base de laiton Année 10 Crédits

Dans cette classe de base, les étudiants qui ont peu ou pas d'expérience sur un instrument de cuivre peuvent acquérir l'expérience nécessaire pour passer à un niveau ensemble de l'école secondaire d'entrée. L'enseignement sera offert à la trompette, trombone, Cor français, baryton ou tuba. Nous allons jouer de la musique dans une variété de styles, et d'écouter régulièrement des enregistrements de grands joueurs de cuivres. Les étudiants n'ont pas besoin de lire la musique pour entrer dans cette catégorie; ils vont apprendre à lire dans le cadre des objectifs de classe. Les étudiants sont tenus de participer à deux concerts par année. Les instruments sont fournis. Ce cours répond UC / CSU arts visuels et du spectacle (f) exigence.

Principes de base de Cordes Année 10 Crédits

Une introduction aux instruments à cordes, explorer une variété de styles: Classical, Mariachi, Violon irlandais et américains. Les étudiants qui ont peu ou pas d'expérience sur un instrument à cordes peuvent acquérir l'expérience nécessaire pour passer à un niveau ensemble de l'école secondaire d'entrée. L'enseignement sera offert au violon, pourpre, violoncelle et contrebasse. Les étudiants n'ont pas besoin de lire la musique pour entrer dans cette catégorie; ils vont apprendre à lire dans le cadre des objectifs de classe. En outre, que nous étudions musique principalement enseigné par la tradition orale, nous allons apprendre la musique à l'oreille. Les étudiants sont tenus de participer à deux concerts par année. Les instruments sont fournis.

Ce cours répond UC / CSU arts visuels et du spectacle (f) exigence.

AP Music Theory (AP) Année 10 Crédits

Il s'agit d'un niveau musical cours théorique de l'université couvrant à la fois la théorie écrite et à la formation de l'oreille. Cette classe comprend les éléments suivants: théorie musicale, composition, dictée, et lecture à vue. Ce cours est conçu pour préparer le musicien de l'école secondaire à l'examen d'Advanced Placement dans Théorie de la musique. Prérequis: Le consentement de l'enseignant, connaissance pratique des gammes majeures et mineures et le cercle des quintes, capacité à lire la musique dans au moins deux clefs.

Musique Perception et analyse IB (SL) (HL) Année 10 Crédits

Perception et analyse musicale est conçu pour préparer les étudiants à analyser très divers genres et styles musicaux à la fois un historique et un point de vue culturel. Les élèves étudient les blocs de construction élémentaires de musique (mélodie, harmonie, rythme, texture,forme) ainsi que la fonction de musique. Ce flux d'étude se termine par une étude de l'IB travaux prescrits. Les élèves étudient une variété de sujets et des époques de la musique culturelles, ainsi que d'une étude de la tradition et de styles de musique populaire. Les élèves apprennent à écrire sur la musique. Ce flux d'étude culmine dans les liens Musical enquête, un élément obligatoire du diplôme en musique. Ce cours est conçu pour préparer les musiciens de l'école secondaire pour le diplôme de l'IB en musique. Prérequis: Le consentement de l'enseignant, capacité à lire la musique, connaissance pratique des gammes majeures et mineures et le cercle des quintes.

Concert Chorale (P) Année · 10 Crédits

Cette classe met l'accent sur les principes fondamentaux de la technique vocale et les performances d'un répertoire varié de musique chorale. La classe effectue généralement Broadway, roche, Évangile, âme et art musique. Les étudiants ont également la possibilité d'effectuer en tant que solistes et petits groupes. Le chœur se produit dans deux concerts chaque année (une chute, un ressort) plus un Choral Festival régional, également dans le ressort. Les étudiants n'ont pas besoin de lire la musique pour entrer dans la classe; ils vont apprendre à lire comme la classe progresse. Ce cours répond UC / CSU arts visuels et du spectacle (f) exigence.

Début / Intermédiaire Guitare Année – 10 Crédits

Les élèves apprendront accords et des techniques de strumming être des joueurs de guitare compétent à avancé en utilisant une variété de genres (pop, roche, R&B, Blues, Folk, etc). Les étudiants n'ont pas besoin de lire la musique pour entrer dans cette catégorie; ils vont apprendre à lire dans le cadre des objectifs de classe. structure de classe est centrée sur l'élève, restauration pour les étudiants’ intérêts individuels, style d'apprentissage, et le rythme. Les guitares sont fournis. Tout niveau d'expérience (dont aucune expérience) est la bienvenue. Les étudiants sont tenus de participer à deux concerts par année scolaire. P crédit en attendant.

Jazz Lab Band I Année 10 Crédits

Cette classe se concentre sur le développement des compétences nécessaires à bois, laiton, chaîne, et les joueurs de la section rythmique pour jouer du jazz avec une facilité. Les sujets traités comprennent la théorie de jazz, histoire, improvisation, lecture à vue des rythmes typiques du jazz, et de l'ensemble des techniques de jeu à la fois pour big band et les modalités de combo. Les étudiants sont tenus de participer à 3 concerts par an. Prérequis: au moins 7 capacité de niveau scolaire à lire la musique et jouer de votre instrument avec une bonne technique. Cette classe n'est pas pour les débutants, mais c'est une continuation des classes de musique de collège. Admission sur recommandation d'un professeur de musique à l'école intermédiaire ou avec le consentement du directeur de Jazz de haute école. Comme il s'agit d'un ensemble d'interprétation, la taille des classes est limitée à 2 chacun de piano / basse / vibraphone / guitare et batterie. Bois illimités (saxes, clarinettes, flûtes), laiton (trompettes et trombones) et cordes (violons, altos, Celli) sont également invités! Ce cours répond UC / CSU arts visuels et du spectacle (f) exigence.

Jazz Lab Band II Année 10 Crédits

Dans cette classe, nous continuons le travail amorcé dans le laboratoire de jazz I, en mettant l'accent sur la théorie de jazz plus avancé, improvisant sur des harmonies plus complexes, lecture à vue passages plus complexes, et de travail pour parfaire arrangements plus difficile big band. Ce groupe se produit régulièrement - au moins 4 concerts et 2 festivals de jazz compétitifs par an, qui tous sont tenus (calendrier remis le premier jour d'école). Prérequis: tous les élèves doivent lire la musique et jouer de leurs instruments à un niveau scolaire 10 ou plus. Bien que l'achèvement satisfaisant de laboratoire de jazz que je préfère, il est possible pour les étudiants avancés d'auditionner en laboratoire II sans prendre laboratoire I. L'entrée est par audition seulement, et auditions ont lieu au début de mai. Instrumentation est limitée à 2 chacun des joueurs de la section rythmique (étage, guitare, vibes, bass, tambours), 5 trompettes, 4 trombones, et à 8 saxes. En de rares occasions un joueur avancé sur un instrument non traditionnel big band peut être accordée admission avec l'autorisation de l'instructeur. Ce cours répond UC / CSU arts visuels et du spectacle (f) exigence.

Jazz Ensemble Year 10 Crédits

Le lycée de Berkeley Jazz Ensemble est l'un des meilleurs groupes de jazz de lycée dans le pays. Les étudiants avancés sur les instruments traditionnels de big band sont invités à l'audition. L'objectif de la classe est sur la réalisation de grands tableaux de la bande de pointe. Compétences abordées comprennent articulation et le phrasé jazz, lecture à vue graphiques avancés, Mélange de groupe et de l'équilibre, développement rainures balançant dur, Comping efficacement, le maintien d'une cadence compatible, etc. théorie de Jazz n'est pas directement enseigné dans cette classe, C'est pourquoi il est préférable que les étudiants suivent des cours de laboratoire de jazz première. Ce groupe se produit régulièrement - au moins 6 concerts et 3 festivals compétitifs annuels, qui tous sont tenus (calendrier remis le premier jour d'école). Les visites de groupe à l'étranger tous les ans, et à recueillir des fonds activement. Prérequis: L'achèvement satisfaisant de Jazz Lab II est préférable, mais pas nécessaire. Admission sur audition seulement. La taille des classes est limitée à un ou deux de chaque rythme sections joueurs (étage, bass, tambours, guitare et vibraphone), 5 trompettes, 4 trombones, et 5 saxes. Ce cours répond UC / CSU arts visuels et du spectacle (f) exigence.

S'inscrit à des cours AVANT AUDITIONS

Classes de Jazz

Étudiants de première année entrant qui voudraient prendre une classe de jazz au 2013- 2014 doivent s'inscrire pour Jazz Lab je. Cette classe est conçue pour étudiants de première année qui jouent déjà d'un instrument et lire la musique bien. 8e niveleuses sont également les bienvenus à auditionner pour Jazz Lab II (notre classe de niveau intermédiaire), and Jazz Ensemble (notre classe avancée) mai 2013, et si elles sont acceptées dans aucune de ces catégories conseillers va changer leurs horaires (voir les informations ci-dessous audition). RHYTHM SECTIONS JOUEURS (pianistes, batteurs, les joueurs de guitare, bassistes) devrions tous l'intention de prendre une audition puisque le nombre de auditioners est généralement si grande que les points de la section rythmique dans le laboratoire de jazz I sont donnés aux étudiants qui auditionnent pour le laboratoire II, mais ne le font pas.

Orchestre / Band

Étudiants de première année qui entrent doivent s'inscrire à 1 º Concert Orchestra ou 1 º Concert Band. Ce cours est conçu pour les étudiants qui ont joué leur instrument pour 3+ ans et bien lire la musique. 8e niveleuses intéressés par le niveau 0 º Chamber Orchestra avancé doivent s'inscrire aux auditions en Avril en communiquant avec Karen Wells ou Mary Dougherty (voir les informations ci-dessous audition).

Débutants! S'inscrire pour Principes de Musique

Étudiants de première année entrant qui ne jouent pas d'un instrument, qui voudraient en apprendre un nouvel instrument, ou qui jouent un instrument mais ne disposent pas lire la musique et ont maintenant la possibilité de vous inscrire à Principes de Bois, Strings, ou laiton. En attente de financement, Une de ces classes seront enseignés chaque année. La classe de bois offre flûte, clarinette et saxophone. Cordes propose violon, pourpre, violoncelle et contrebasse. Le laiton offre trompette, trombone, euphonium, cor et tuba. Lorsque vous vous inscrivez, s'il vous plaît énumérer les trois classes par ordre de préférence (e.g, 1st laiton choix, 2bois de choix nd, 3chaînes de choix ème). Cela nous aide à déterminer quelle classe pour enseigner chaque année.

AUDITIONS

Jazz Ensemble et Jazz Lab II

Ce printemps, auditions pour le 2013-2014 Jazz Lab II et les classes Ensemble de jazz auront lieu le 21 mai (basse et guitare), 23e (bois), 24e (laiton), et 27 (pianos, tambours et des vibes) en commençant à 3:30 chaque après-midi. Castings pour les deux groupes se produisent en même temps. Chaque élève reçoit un assignée 10 minute fente d'audition. L'audition se compose d'une pièce préparée, échelles, et la lecture vue. Les étudiants qui voudraient également de démontrer leur habileté à l'improvisation auront l'occasion de le faire. matériaux d'audition seront affichés sur le eTree BHS et sur le site de Jazz BHS un mois à l'avance (mi-avril). résultats de l'audition seront publiés le 10 Juin. Si vous avez des questions sur le jazz Lab II ou Jazz Ensemble auditions, s'il vous plaît e-mail sarahcline@berkeley.net

0º Chamber Orchestra (vents / cordes)

Les auditions pour le 0º orchestre de chambre avancé auront lieu à BHS le,,en,et auditionner des extraits qui seront disponibles auprès de votre professeur de collège début avril,,en,Les documents d'audition seront également affichés sur le BHS etree un mois à l'avance,,en Mai 8,9,10 en commençant à 4h. Chaque élève reçoit un assignée 10 minute fente d'audition. L'audition sera composé d'échelles, and audition excerpts that will be available from your middle school teacher at the beginning of April . Audition materials will also be posted on the BHS etree one month in advance(juste après les vacances de printemps). Si vous avez des questions sur 0 º auditions Chamber Orchestra, s'il vous plaît e-mail karenwells@berkeley.net ou marydougherty@berkeley.net

Mon enfant est très intéressé par les cours de musique. Quelle école Petite devrait S / SE INSCRIPTION?

La capacité des étudiants à s'adapter à des cours de musique au choix dans leurs horaires dépend de combien de classes nécessaires, ils doivent prendre. Ces classes sont répertoriés dans les pages de début de la description de chaque petite école dans le catalogue de cours BHS. Lire attentivement ces pages! S'il vous plaît noter que si votre petite école nécessite 5 les classes, Outre classe de langue, qui ne laisse aucune place pour d'autres choix au cours de l'ordinaire 1 º – 6º day. Comme 0 º et 7 º cours de musique sont nos classes de plus haut niveau et exigent des auditions, il est peu probable que votre première année ou en deuxième année pourront compter sur la prise de ces classes.

En lisant les petites descriptions scolaires, vous remarquerez que le choix scolaire a le moins de classes nécessaires, et donc pour les étudiants pour qui prendre la musique est une priorité, AC peut s'avérer être la meilleure façon d'avoir accès au plus grand nombre de classes de musique disponibles.

S'il vous plaît savons aussi que BHS ne vous permettra pas de passer des petites écoles une fois que vous êtes à la BHS afin d'accommoder votre horaire de cours de musique. Alors, choisissez soigneusement une petite école.

Bien AC fournit le meilleur accès aux cours facultatifs à BHS, rejoindre l'AC n'est pas la seule option pour les étudiants qui veulent suivre des cours de musique. Les parents sont souvent consternés de découvrir que leur musicien n'a pas été prévue dans une classe de musique, cependant, de nombreuses familles ont constaté que avec attention 4 la planification de l'année, les étudiants peuvent maximiser leur accès au programme de musique BHS. S'il vous plaît demander à votre conseiller ou BHS professeur de musique pour vous aider avec ce!

  • Dernières vidéo de BHS


    BHS Promotional Video

  • Upcoming BHS Events

    Classe de Laurel (5e)
    Avril 24, 2018
    1:30 h - 2:30 h
    CCC D 221
    Badminton: All Levels Match vs Hayward (Away)
    Commence: 4:00 h
    Extrémités: Avril 24, 2018 - 4:00 h
    Emplacement: Hayward Lycée
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Hayward
    Tennis: Tous les niveaux garçons match contre Bishop O'Dowd,en (Away)
    Commence: 4:00 h
    Extrémités: Avril 24, 2018 - 4:00 h
    Emplacement: Merritt College
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Bishop O'Dowd
    Volley-ball: Garçons Varsity jeu vs Tennyson (Date changed to 04-25-18)
    Commence: 4:00 h
    Extrémités: Avril 24, 2018 - 4:00 h
    Emplacement: Tennyson Lycée
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Tennyson Comments:
    Collège Fair Meeting,en
    Avril 25, 2018
    8:45 Je - 9:45 Je
    Summer Opportunities (M Gym)
    Avril 25, 2018
    9:00 Je - 12:00 h
    M Gym
    Classe de Laurel (5e)
    Avril 25, 2018
    1:30 h - 2:30 h
    CCC D-221
    Natation: All Levels Meet vs Piedmont (Accueil)
    Commence: 3:30 h
    Extrémités: Avril 25, 2018 - 3:30 h
    Emplacement: Berkeley École secondaire
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Piedmont
    Suivre: All Levels Meet vs Arroyo, Berkeley, Encinal, Mt. Eden, Bishop O'Dowd, Tennyson (Away)
    Commence: 3:30 h
    Extrémités: Avril 25, 2018 - 3:30 h
    Emplacement: Arroyo Lycée
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Arroyo, Berkeley, Encinal, Mt. Eden, Bishop O'Dowd, Tennyson Comments: Berkeley vs. Bishop O'DowdArroyo vs. TennysonEncinal vs. Mt. Eden
    Volley-ball: Garçons Varsity jeu vs Tennyson (Away) (Date changed from 04-24-18)
    Commence: 4:00 h
    Extrémités: Avril 25, 2018 - 4:00 h
    Emplacement: Tennyson Lycée
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Tennyson
    Softball: Girls JV Game vs San Leandro (Away)
    Commence: 4:00 h
    Extrémités: Avril 25, 2018 - 4:00 h
    Emplacement: San Leandro Lycée
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: San Leandro
    Base-ball: Boys Varsity Game vs Alameda (Away)
    Commence: 4:00 h
    Extrémités: Avril 25, 2018 - 4:00 h
    Emplacement: Alameda haut - Lincoln Park
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Alameda

Music Department

Visit us online at www.bhsjazz.org

Staff

Karen Wells (Concert Band, Chamber Orchestra, Fundamentals of Woodwinds, AP Theory, IB Music):  karenwells@berkeley.net

Mary Dougherty (Concert Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra, Fundamentals of Strings): marydougherty@berkeley.net

Sarah Cline (Jazz Lab I, Jazz Lab II, Jazz Ensemble, Fundamentals of Brass): sarahcline@berkeley.net

Steffanie Schaeffer (Concert Chorale) steffaniescheffer@berkeley.net

Peter Gidlund (Beginning/Intermediate Guitar) petergidlund@berkeley.net

 

 CLASSES OFFERED

Concert Orchestra (P)                     Year  10 credits

In this entry level ensemble, string players study and perform both string and full orchestra literature as well as small ensemble music, developing the craftsmanship and mastery necessary to mold music into a creative expression. Prerequisite: Fundamental skill level on orchestral string instrument. Please be aware that 9th and 10th graders in the AHA or CAS schools would not be able to take this class due to scheduling issues. 9th and 10th graders can audition for the 0º Chamber Orchestra as an alternative. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

 

Concert Band (P)                          Year 10 credits

In this entry level class, wind, brass and percussion players study and perform concert/pep band literature as well as full orchestra literature, developing the craftsmanship and mastery necessary to mold music into a creative expression. Please be aware that 9th and 10th graders in the AHA or CAS schools would not be able to take this class due to scheduling issues. 9th and 10th graders can audition for the 0º Chamber Orchestra Wind Ensemble Section as an alternative. Prerequisite: Fundamental skill level on wind, brass or percussion instrument. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Chamber Orchestra (P)                     Year 10 credits

2 sections offered: Wind ensemble section/ String ensemble section.

In this auditioned ensemble, upper level string, wind, brass and percussion players study and perform orchestral and chamber literature as appropriate, developing the craftsmanship and mastery necessary to mold music into a creative expression. Students in this ensemble can expect to have many opportunites to perform throughout the course. Prerequisite: Audition and teacher consent. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Fundamentals of Woodwinds                Year 10 credits

In this basic class, students who have little or no experience on a woodwind instrument can gain the experience necessary to move into an entry level high school ensemble. Instruction will be offered on flute, clarinet, saxophone, oboe or bassoon. We will play music in a variety of styles, and listen regularly to recordings of great woodwind players. Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals. Students are expected to participate in two concerts per year. Instruments are provided.

This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Fundamentals of Brass                                        Year 10 credits

In this basic class, students who have little or no experience on a brass instrument can gain the experience necessary to move into an entry level high school ensemble. Instruction will be offered on trumpet, trombone, French horn, baritone or tuba. We will play music in a variety of styles, and listen regularly to recordings of great brass players.  Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals.  Students are expected to participate in two concerts per year.  Instruments are provided.  This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Fundamentals of Strings                     Year 10 credits

An introduction to string instruments, exploring a variety of styles: Classical, Mariachi, Irish and American fiddle. Students who have little or no experience on a string instrument can gain the experience necessary to move into an entry level high school ensemble. Instruction will be offered on violin, viola, cello and bass. Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals. In addition, as we study music primarily taught through oral tradition, we will learn music by ear. Students are expected to participate in two concerts per year. Instruments are provided.

This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

AP Music Theory (AP)                      Year 10 credits

This is a college level music theory course covering both written theory and ear training. This class will include the following: music theory, composition, dictation, and sight singing. This course is designed to prepare the high school musician for the Advanced Placement exam in Music Theory.  Prerequisite: Consent of teacher, working knowledge of major and minor scales and circle of fifths, ability to read music in at least two clefs.

Music Perception and Analysis IB (SL) (HL)      Year 10 credits

Musical Perception and Analysis is designed to prepare students to analyze widely diverse musical genres and styles from both a historical and a cultural perspective. Students study elemental building blocks of music (melody, harmony, rhythm, texture,form) as well as the function of music. This stream of study culminates in a study of IB prescribed works. Students study a variety of cultural topics and eras of music, as well as a study of tradition and popular music styles. Students learn how to write about music. This stream of study culminates in the Musical Links Investigation, a required element of the diploma in music. This course is designed to prepare the high school musicians for the IB diploma in music. Prerequisite: Consent of teacher, ability to read music, working knowledge of major and minor scales and circle of fifths.

Concert Chorale (P)                                                        Year · 10 Credits

This class emphasizes the fundamentals of vocal technique and performances of a varied repertoire of choral music. The class typically performs Broadway, rock, gospel, soul and art music. Students also have the opportunity to perform as soloists and small groups. The chorus performs in two concerts each year (one fall, one spring) plus a regional choral festival, also in the spring. Students do not need to read music in order to enter the class; they will learn to read as the class progresses. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Beginning/Intermediate Guitar                                      Year – 10 Credits

Students will learn chords and strumming techniques to be proficient-to-advanced guitar players using a variety of genres (pop, rock, R&B, blues, folk, etc.).  Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals. Class structure is student-centered, catering to students’ individual interests, learning style, and pace. Guitars are provided.  Any level of experience (including no experience) is welcome. Students are required to participate in two concerts per school year. P credit pending.

Jazz Lab Band I                                                 Year 10 credits

This class focuses on developing skills necessary for woodwind, brass, string, and rhythm section players to play jazz with facility.  Topics include jazz theory, history, improvisation, sight reading of typical jazz rhythms, and ensemble playing techniques for both big band and combo arrangements.  Students are required to participate in 3 concerts per year.  Prerequisite: at least 7th grade level ability to read music and play your instrument with good technique.  This class is not for beginners, but is a continuation of middle school music classes. Admission by recommendation of a middle school music teacher or by consent of the high school Jazz Director.  Because this is a performing ensemble, class size is limited to 2 each of piano/bass/vibes/guitar and drums. Unlimited woodwinds (saxes, clarinets, flutes), brass (trumpets and trombones) and strings (violins, violas, celli) are also invited! This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Jazz Lab Band II                                       Year 10 credits

In this class we continue the work begun in jazz lab I, focusing on more advanced jazz theory, improvising over more complex harmonies, sight reading more complex passages, and working to perfect harder big band arrangements.  This band performs frequently – at least 4 concerts and 2 competitive jazz festivals per year, all of which are required (calendar handed out the first day of school).  Prerequisite: all students must read music and play their instruments at a 10th grade level or higher.  Although satisfactory completion of jazz lab I is preferred, it is possible for advanced students to audition into lab II without taking lab I. Admission is by audition only, and auditions are held in early May. Instrumentation is limited to 2 each of rhythm section players (piano, guitar, vibes, bass, drums), 5 trumpets, 4 trombones, and up to 8 saxes.  On rare occasions an advanced player on a non-traditional big band instrument may be granted admission by permission of the instructor. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Jazz Ensemble                                         Year 10 credits

The Berkeley High School Jazz Ensemble is one of the top high school jazz groups in the country.  Advanced students on traditional big band instruments are encouraged to audition.  The focus of the class is on performing advanced big band charts.  Skills addressed include jazz articulation and phrasing, sight reading advanced charts, group blend and balance, developing hard swinging grooves, comping effectively, maintaining a consistent tempo, etc. Jazz theory is not directly taught in this class, which is why it is preferable that students take jazz lab classes first.  This band performs frequently – at least 6 concerts and 3 competitive festivals yearly, all of which are required (calendar handed out the first day of school).  The band tours internationally every other year, and fundraises actively. Prerequisite: Satisfactory completion of Jazz Lab II is preferred but not required.  Admission by audition only.  Class size is limited to one or two each of rhythm sections players (piano, bass, drums, guitar and vibes), 5 trumpets, 4 trombones, and 5 saxes. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

SIGNING UP FOR  CLASSES BEFORE AUDITIONS

Jazz Classes

Entering freshmen who would like to take a jazz class in 2013- 2014 should sign up for Jazz Lab I.  This class is designed for freshmen who already play an instrument and read music well.  8th graders are also welcome to audition for Jazz Lab II (our intermediate level class), and Jazz Ensemble (our advanced class) in May 2013, and if they are accepted into either of those classes counselors will change their schedules (see audition information below).  RHYTHM SECTIONS PLAYERS (pianists, drummers, guitar players, bass players) should ALL plan on taking an audition since the number of auditioners is usually so large that rhythm section spots in jazz lab I are given to students who audition for lab II but don’t make it.

 

Orchestra/Band

Entering freshmen should sign up for 1º Concert Orchestra or 1º Concert Band. This class is designed for students who have played their instrument for 3+ years and read music well. 8th graders interested in the advanced level 0º Chamber Orchestra should sign up for auditions in April by contacting Karen Wells or Mary Dougherty (see audition information below).

 

Beginners!  Signing up for Fundamentals of Music

Entering freshmen who do not play an instrument, who would like to learn a new instrument, or who play an instrument but do not yet read music well now have the opportunity to sign up for Fundamentals of Woodwinds, Strings, or Brass. Pending funding, ONE of these classes will be taught each year.  The woodwinds class offers flute, clarinet and saxophone.  Strings offers violin, viola, cello and bass.  Brass offers trumpet, trombone, euphonium, horn and tuba.  When you sign up, please list all three classes in order of preference (e.g, 1st choice  brass, 2nd choice woodwinds, 3rd choice strings). This helps us determine which class to teach each year.

 

AUDITIONS

 

Jazz Lab II and Jazz Ensemble

This spring, auditions for the 2013-2014 Jazz Lab II and Jazz Ensemble classes will be held on May 21st (bass and guitar), 23rd (woodwinds), 24th (brass), and 27th (pianos, drums and vibes) beginning at 3:30 each afternoon.  Auditions for both groups occur at the same time.  Each student gets an assigned 10 minute audition slot.  The audition will consist of a prepared piece, scales, and sight reading.  Students who would also like to demonstrate their skill at improvisation will have an opportunity to do so.  Audition materials will be posted on the BHS etree AND on the BHS Jazz website one month in advance (mid april).  Audition results will be posted by June 10th.  If you have any questions about Jazz Lab II or Jazz Ensemble auditions, please email sarahcline@berkeley.net

 

0º Chamber Orchestra (winds/strings)

Auditions for the advanced 0º Chamber Orchestra will be held at BHS on April 16, 17, and 18 beginning at 4pm. Each student gets an assigned 10 minute audition slot.  The audition will consist of scales, and audition excerpts that will be available from your middle school teacher in March. Audition materials will be posted on the BHS etree one month in advance(right after spring break).  If you have any questions about 0º Chamber Orchestra auditions, please email karenwells@berkeley.net or marydougherty@berkeley.net

 

MY CHILD IS VERY INTERESTED IN MUSIC CLASSES.  WHAT SMALL SCHOOL SHOULD S/HE SIGN UP FOR?

 

The ability of students to fit elective music classes into their schedules depends on how many required classes they must take.  These classes are listed in the beginning pages of the descriptions for each small school in the BHS course catalog.  Read these pages carefully!  Please note that if your small school requires 5 classes, besides language class, that leaves no space for other electives during the regular 1º – 6º day.  As 0º and 7º music classes are our highest level classes and require auditions, it’s unlikely that your freshman or sophomore will be able to count on taking these classes.

 

As you read through the small school descriptions, you will notice that Academic Choice has the fewest required classes, and therefore for those students for whom taking music is a priority, AC may prove to be the best way to gain access to the greatest number of music classes available.

 

Please also know that BHS will not allow you to switch small schools once you are at BHS in order to accommodate your music class schedule.  So choose a small school carefully.

 

Although AC provides the greatest access to elective classes at BHS, joining AC is not the only option for students who want to take music classes.  Parents are often dismayed to find out that their musician has not been scheduled into a music class, however, many families have found that with careful 4 year planning, students can maximize their access to the BHS music program.  Please ask your counselor or BHS music teacher to help you with this!

  • Latest Video from BHS


    BHS Promotional Video

  • Upcoming BHS Events

    Book Drives (C Bldg Gallery)
    April 25, 2017
    1:00 pm - 1:01 pm
    C Bldg Gallery
    Tennis: Boys All Levels Match vs Castro Valley (Away)
    Starts: 3:30 pm
    Ends: April 25, 2017 - 3:30 pm
    Location: Castro Valley High School
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Castro Valley
    AP Environmental Science Final Exam (Jacket Gym)
    April 25, 2017
    3:45 pm - 5:30 pm
    Jacket Gym
    Badminton: All Levels Match vs Castro Valley (Away)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 25, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Castro Valley High - Main Gym
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Castro Valley
    Book Drives (C Bldg Gallery)
    April 26, 2017
    1:00 pm - 1:01 pm
    C Bldg Gallery
    Softball: Girls Varsity Game vs Arroyo (Home)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Berkeley High School
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Arroyo
    Baseball: Boys Varsity Game vs Alameda (Home)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Berkeley High - Tim Moellering Field
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Alameda
    Softball: Girls JV Game vs Arroyo (Away)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Arroyo High School
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Arroyo
    Baseball: Boys JV Game vs Alameda (Away)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Alameda High - Lincoln Park
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Alameda
    Book Drives (C Bldg Gallery)
    April 27, 2017
    1:00 pm - 1:01 pm
    C Bldg Gallery
    Volleyball: Boys Varsity Game vs Castro Valley (Home)
    Starts: 4:15 pm
    Ends: April 27, 2017 - 4:15 pm
    Location: Berkeley High - Donahue Gym
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Castro Valley
    Badminton: All Levels Match vs Tennyson (Home)
    Starts: 4:15 pm
    Ends: April 27, 2017 - 4:15 pm
    Location: Berkeley High School - Jacket Gym
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Tennyson