音樂系

訪問我們的網站 www.bhsjazz.org

員工

卡倫井 (音樂會樂隊, 室內樂團, 木管樂器的基礎, AP理論, IB音樂): karenwells@berkeley.net

瑪麗·多爾蒂 (音樂會管弦樂團, 室內樂團, 字符串基礎): marydougherty@berkeley.net

薩拉·克萊因 (爵士實驗室我, 爵士實驗室II, 爵士樂團, 黃銅基礎): sarahcline@berkeley.net

提供的課程

音樂會管弦樂團 (P) 年 10 學分

在這個入門級的合奏, 弦樂演奏家學習並執行字符串和文獻,以及完整的管弦樂隊合奏小, 模具開發工藝和掌握必要的音樂進入一個創造性的表達. 條件: 管弦樂隊的弦樂器的基本技能水平. 請注意AHA或CAS學校的9年級和10年級的學生將無法藉此類由於調度問題. 9日和10年級學生可以作為一種替代0º室內樂團試演. 這當然符合UC / CSU視覺和表演藝術 (f) 需求.

音樂會樂隊 (P) 年 10 學分

在這個入門級的類, 風, 銅管和打擊樂選手音樂會/活力帶的文獻,以及完整的管弦樂隊文學學習和執行, 模具開發工藝和掌握必要的音樂進入一個創造性的表達. 請注意AHA或CAS學校的9年級和10年級的學生將無法藉此類由於調度問題. 9日和10年級學生可以試聽0º室內樂團樂團科作為一種替代. 條件: 基本技能水平風, 黃銅樂器或打擊樂器. 這當然符合UC / CSU視覺和表演藝術 (f) 需求.

室內樂團 (P) 年 10 學分

2 提供的部分: 風合奏節/綰部分.

在此試演合奏, 上層串, 風, 銅管和打擊樂選手學習並執行適當的管弦樂和室內樂文學, 模具開發工藝和掌握必要的音樂進入一個創造性的表達. 在這個樂團的學生可以期望有很多市場機會來執行的整個過程. 條件: 勁舞團和教師同意. 這當然符合UC / CSU視覺和表演藝術 (f) 需求.

木管樂器的基礎年 10 學分

在這個基本類, 木管樂器上有很少或沒有經驗的學生能獲得必要的經驗,進入入門級的高中合奏. 指令將提供長笛, 單簧管, 薩克管, 雙簧管巴松. 我們將發揮各種風格的音樂, 並定期聽取錄音偉大的木管樂器球員. 學生不需要讀音樂,為了進入這個類; 他們將學習如何閱讀之類的目標的一部分. 預計學生每年參加兩場音樂會. 儀器.

這當然符合UC / CSU視覺和表演藝術 (f) 需求.

黃銅年的基礎 10 學分

在這個基本類, 銅管樂器上有很少或沒有經驗的學生可以進入入門級的高中合奏獲得必要的經驗. 指令將提供小號, 長號, 圓號, 男中音或大號. 我們將發揮各種風格的音樂, 並定期聽取錄音偉大的黃銅球員. 學生不需要讀音樂,為了進入這個類; 他們將學習如何閱讀之類的目標的一部分. 預計學生每年參加兩場音樂會. 儀器. 這當然符合UC / CSU視覺和表演藝術 (f) 需求.

弦樂年度基礎 10 學分

弦樂器的介紹, 探索各種不同的風格: 古典, 流浪, 愛爾蘭和美國的小提琴. 弦樂器上有很少或沒有經驗的學生能獲得必要的經驗,進入入門級的高中合奏. 指令將提供小提琴, 紫色, 大提琴和低音提琴. 學生不需要讀音樂,為了進入這個類; 他們將學習如何閱讀之類的目標的一部分. 此外, 我們通過口頭傳統研究主要教音樂, 我們將學習音樂的耳朵. 預計學生每年參加兩場音樂會. 儀器.

這當然符合UC / CSU視覺和表演藝術 (f) 需求.

AP音樂理論 (美聯社) 年 10 學分

這是一個大學水平的音樂理論課程涵蓋了書面的理論和耳朵訓練. 這個類將包括以下內容: 音樂理論, 組成, 聽寫, 和視唱. 本課程的目的是準備高中音樂理論音樂家進階先修考試. 條件: 老師同意書, 工作知識的大,小調音階和圓的五分之二, 閱讀能力的音樂,至少在兩個金鑰匙.

音樂的感知和分析IB (SL) (HL) 年 10 學分

音樂感知和分析的目的是準備學生分析廣泛多元的音樂流派和風格,無論從歷史和文化的角度. 學生學習元素的音樂積木 (旋律, 和諧, 韻律, 質地,形式) 音樂的功能,以及. 此研究的高潮流IB規定的工程的研究. 學生學習的各種文化主題和時代的音樂, 以及研究傳統和流行音樂風格. 學員將學習如何寫音樂. 此流的研究高潮的音樂鏈接調查, 文憑在音樂的必需元素. 本課程的目的是準備高中IB文憑的音樂家的音樂. 條件: 老師同意書, 識譜能力, 工作知識的大,小調音階和圓的五分之二.

合唱團音樂會 (P) 年 · 10 積分

本課程將著重基本面的聲樂技巧和多樣化的劇目表演的合唱音樂. 類通常執行百老匯, 岩石, 福音, 靈魂和藝術音樂. 學生也有機會作為獨奏家和小團體的執行. 合唱團進行兩場音樂會,每年 (一個秋天, 一個彈簧) 再加上區域合唱節, 在春天. 學生不需要讀音樂才能進入類; 他們將學習閱讀類的進展. 這當然符合UC / CSU視覺和表演藝術 (f) 需求.

年初/中級吉他年份 – 10 積分

學生將學習和弦彈奏技術精通到高級的吉他手使用各種流派 (彈出, 岩石, ŕ&乙, 藍調, 民間, 等等). 學生不需要讀音樂,為了進入這個類; 他們將學習如何閱讀之類的目標的一部分. 班級結構以學生為中心, 迎合學生’ 個人利益, 學習風格, 和步伐. 吉他. 任何經驗水平 (包括沒有經驗) 是歡迎. 要求學生每學年參加兩場音樂會. P信用待.

爵士實驗室帶我新年 10 學分

這個類重點發展必要技能,木管樂器, 黃銅, 串, 和節奏部分玩家玩爵士設施. 主題包括爵士樂理論, 歷史, 即興, 典型的爵士節奏視奏, 和演奏技巧的大樂隊和組合安排. 學生須參加 3 每年音樂會. 條件: 七年級的水平,至少讀取音樂和彈奏樂器,具有良好的技術能力. 這個類是不適合初學者, 但它是一個延續了中學音樂班. 建議一所中學的音樂教師或高中爵士樂董事同意入場. 因為這是一個樂團表演, 每班僅限於 2 每個鋼琴/低音/的共鳴/吉他和鼓. 無限的木管樂器 (薩克斯, 單簧管, 長笛), 黃銅 (小號和長號) 和字符串 (小提琴, 中提琴, 切利) 還邀請! 這當然符合UC / CSU視覺和表演藝術 (f) 需求.

爵士實驗室頻段II年份 10 學分

這節課,我們繼續在爵士實驗室開始工作,我, 專注於更先進的爵士樂理論, 在更複雜的和聲即興, 視線讀取更複雜的通道, 並努力完善較硬的大樂隊安排. 這個樂隊經常進行 - 至少 4 音樂會和 2 競爭力的爵士音樂節每年, 所有這些都需要 (日曆交給了學校的第一天). 條件: 所有學生必須讀一個10級或更高級別的音樂和演奏著樂器. 雖然爵士的實驗室我的圓滿完成是首選, 它有可能為先進的學生去試鏡我不計實驗室到實驗室II. 入場試鏡, 在五月初舉行試鏡. 儀表限於 2 每個節奏部分球員 (地板, 吉他, 共鳴, 低音, 鼓), 5 小號, 4 長號, 和高達 8 薩克斯. 在罕見的情況在非傳統大樂隊樂器的高級玩家可以通過導師的許可,獲准入學. 這當然符合UC / CSU視覺和表演藝術 (f) 需求.

爵士樂團年 10 學分

伯克利高中的爵士樂團之一,在全國頂尖的高中爵士樂團體. 在傳統的大樂隊樂器高級教師應鼓勵學生面試. 類的重點是執行高級大樂隊圖表. 解決技能包括爵士樂銜接和措辭, 視線讀高級圖表, 組混合和平衡, 發展硬擺動凹槽, 有效Comping功能, 保持穩定的節奏, 等等. 在這個類中沒有直接教爵士樂理論, 這就是為什麼它是最好的學生參加爵士實驗課. 這個樂隊經常進行 - 至少 6 音樂會和 3 每年競爭力的節日, 所有這些都需要 (日曆交給了學校的第一天). 該樂隊之旅國際每隔一年, 並積極募款. 條件: 圓滿完成是首選,但不是必需的爵士實驗室II. 入場試演只. 班級人數限制在一個或兩個每個節奏部分球員 (地板, 低音, 鼓, 吉他和共鳴), 5 小號, 4 長號, 和 5 薩克斯. 這當然符合UC / CSU視覺和表演藝術 (f) 需求.

簽署了課前試演

爵士類

誰想藉爵士類的入學新生 2013- 2014 爵士實驗室我應該簽署. 本課程是專為新生誰已經彈奏樂器和五線譜好. 8個年級的學生也歡迎試演為爵士實驗室II (我們中間級的), 爵士樂團 (我們的先進的階級) 在五月 2013, 如果他們接受分為這些類輔導員將改變他們的日程安排 (見下面的信息試演). RHYTHM截面球員 (鋼琴家, 鼓手, 吉他手, 低音球員) 如果所有的計劃數auditioners試鏡,因為通常是如此之大,節奏部分景點爵士樂實驗室,我是給學生試鏡實驗室II,但不要讓它.

樂團/樂隊

入學新生應簽署1º音樂會管弦樂團音樂會樂隊或1º. 這個類是專為學生誰發揮他們的儀器 3+ 年,五線譜. 8感興趣的年級中處於先進水平0º室內樂團應簽署了在4月的試鏡接觸卡倫井或瑪麗·多爾蒂 (見下面的信息試演).

初學者! 簽署了音樂的基本原理

入學新生,誰不演奏樂器, 誰願意學習一門新工具, 或演奏樂器,但還不識譜,現在有機會簽約為基礎的木管樂器, 弦, 或黃銅. 待資金, 這些類的教授每年. 木管樂器類提供笛, 單簧管和薩克斯. 弦樂小提琴提供, 紫色, 大提琴和低音提琴. 黃銅提供小號, 長號, 中音號, 喇叭和大號. 當你註冊, 請列出所有三類優先順序 (e.g, 1第一選擇黃銅, 2第二選擇木管樂器, 3第三選擇字符串). 這可以幫助我們確定哪個類來教,每年.

試演

爵士樂團和爵士實驗室II

今年春天, 試鏡 2013-2014 爵士實驗室II和爵士樂團班將於5月21日 (貝司和吉他), 23路 (木管樂器), 24日 (黃銅), 和27 (鋼琴, 鼓和共鳴) 開始 3:30 每天下午. 試鏡兩組發生在同一時間. 每個學生都​​能分配 10 分鐘試鏡槽. 面試將包括事先準備好的一張, 秤, 和視奏. 學生誰也想證明在即興他們的技能將有機會這麼做. 勁舞團的材料將被張貼在行李處理系統etree和行李處理系統爵士樂網站提前一個月 (四月中旬). 試聽結果將發表由6月10日. 如果您有關於爵士實驗室II或爵士樂團試鏡任何問題, 請電郵 sarahcline@berkeley.ne

0º室內樂團 (風/字符串)

先進的0º室內樂團的選拔賽將於4月在BHS 16, 17, 和 18 在下午4點開始. 每個學生都​​能分配 10 分鐘試鏡槽. 面試將包括秤, 試鏡摘錄將可從3月份的中學教師. 勁舞材料將被張貼BHS的etree上提前一個月(右後春假). 如果您有關於0度室內樂團試演任何問題, 請電郵 karenwells@berkeley.netmarydougherty@berkeley.ne

我的孩子很感興趣,在音樂課堂. 應該他/她註冊怎麼小校?

學生的能力,以適應選修音樂課,他們的日程安排取決於需要多少類,他們必須採取. 這些類都列在行李處理系統課程目錄中的每個小校的描述的開始頁面. 請仔細閱讀這些網頁! 請注意,如果您的小型學校要求 5 班, 除了語言類, 其他選修科目,不留空間,在常規的1º – 6º day. 為0°和7°音樂課是我們最高級別的課程,並要求試鏡, 它不可能是你的大一或大二就能依靠服用這些類.

當你讀通過小的學校說明, 你會發現,學術選擇具有最少的必需類, ,因此對於那些學生對他們來說,音樂是一種優先, ,AC可能被證明是最好的方式來獲得訪問人數最多的音樂類.

您也知道,BHS將不會讓您切換一次小規模的學校你是在行李處理系統,以適應您的音樂課時間表. 因此,仔細選擇一個小的學校.

雖然交流提供了最大的選修課程在BHS, 加盟AC是不是唯一的選擇,誰想要參加音樂類的學生. 父母往往驚惶地發現,他們的音樂還沒有被安排成一個音樂課, 然而, 很多家庭都發現,仔細 4 年規劃, 學生可以最大限度地發揮其的BHS音樂節目的訪問. 請向你的顧問或BHS音樂老師來幫助你完成這個!

  • 從BHS的最新視頻


    BHS Promotional Video

  • Upcoming BHS Events

    課外輔導,,en,伯克利競技基金meetins,,en,俱樂部負責人會議,,en (CCC認證)
    一月 22, 2018
    3:30 下午 - 6:00 下午
    CCC認證
    課外輔導,,en,伯克利競技基金meetins,,en,俱樂部負責人會議,,en (CCC認證)
    一月 23, 2018
    3:30 下午 - 6:00 下午
    CCC認證
    課外輔導,,en,伯克利競技基金meetins,,en,俱樂部負責人會議,,en (CCC認證)
    一月 24, 2018
    3:30 下午 - 6:00 下午
    CCC認證
    課外輔導,,en,伯克利競技基金meetins,,en,俱樂部負責人會議,,en (CCC認證)
    一月 25, 2018
    3:30 下午 - 6:00 下午
    CCC認證
    工作人員午餐賞析 (美食廣場)
    一月 26, 2018
    12:00 下午 - 2:00 下午
    美食廣場
    課外輔導,,en,伯克利競技基金meetins,,en,俱樂部負責人會議,,en (CCC認證)
    一月 26, 2018
    3:30 下午 - 6:00 下午
    CCC認證
    課外輔導,,en,伯克利競技基金meetins,,en,俱樂部負責人會議,,en (CCC認證)
    一月 29, 2018
    3:30 下午 - 6:00 下午
    CCC認證
    課外輔導,,en,伯克利競技基金meetins,,en,俱樂部負責人會議,,en (CCC認證)
    一月 30, 2018
    3:30 下午 - 6:00 下午
    CCC認證
    課外輔導,,en,伯克利競技基金meetins,,en,俱樂部負責人會議,,en (CCC認證)
    一月 31, 2018
    3:30 下午 - 6:00 下午
    CCC認證
    課外輔導,,en,伯克利競技基金meetins,,en,俱樂部負責人會議,,en (CCC認證)
    二月 1, 2018
    3:30 下午 - 6:00 下午
    CCC認證
    課外輔導,,en,伯克利競技基金meetins,,en,俱樂部負責人會議,,en (CCC認證)
    二月 2, 2018
    3:30 下午 - 6:00 下午
    CCC認證
    Winter Dance (美食廣場 & 夾克健身房)
    二月 2, 2018
    4:00 下午 - 11:00 下午
    美食廣場 & 夾克健身房

Music Department

Visit us online at www.bhsjazz.org

Staff

Karen Wells (Concert Band, Chamber Orchestra, Fundamentals of Woodwinds, AP Theory, IB Music):  karenwells@berkeley.net

Mary Dougherty (Concert Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra, Fundamentals of Strings): marydougherty@berkeley.net

Sarah Cline (Jazz Lab I, Jazz Lab II, Jazz Ensemble, Fundamentals of Brass): sarahcline@berkeley.net

Steffanie Schaeffer (Concert Chorale) steffaniescheffer@berkeley.net

Peter Gidlund (Beginning/Intermediate Guitar) petergidlund@berkeley.net

 

 CLASSES OFFERED

Concert Orchestra (P)                     Year  10 credits

In this entry level ensemble, string players study and perform both string and full orchestra literature as well as small ensemble music, developing the craftsmanship and mastery necessary to mold music into a creative expression. Prerequisite: Fundamental skill level on orchestral string instrument. Please be aware that 9th and 10th graders in the AHA or CAS schools would not be able to take this class due to scheduling issues. 9th and 10th graders can audition for the 0º Chamber Orchestra as an alternative. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

 

Concert Band (P)                          Year 10 credits

In this entry level class, wind, brass and percussion players study and perform concert/pep band literature as well as full orchestra literature, developing the craftsmanship and mastery necessary to mold music into a creative expression. Please be aware that 9th and 10th graders in the AHA or CAS schools would not be able to take this class due to scheduling issues. 9th and 10th graders can audition for the 0º Chamber Orchestra Wind Ensemble Section as an alternative. Prerequisite: Fundamental skill level on wind, brass or percussion instrument. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Chamber Orchestra (P)                     Year 10 credits

2 sections offered: Wind ensemble section/ String ensemble section.

In this auditioned ensemble, upper level string, wind, brass and percussion players study and perform orchestral and chamber literature as appropriate, developing the craftsmanship and mastery necessary to mold music into a creative expression. Students in this ensemble can expect to have many opportunites to perform throughout the course. Prerequisite: Audition and teacher consent. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Fundamentals of Woodwinds                Year 10 credits

In this basic class, students who have little or no experience on a woodwind instrument can gain the experience necessary to move into an entry level high school ensemble. Instruction will be offered on flute, clarinet, saxophone, oboe or bassoon. We will play music in a variety of styles, and listen regularly to recordings of great woodwind players. Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals. Students are expected to participate in two concerts per year. Instruments are provided.

This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Fundamentals of Brass                                        Year 10 credits

In this basic class, students who have little or no experience on a brass instrument can gain the experience necessary to move into an entry level high school ensemble. Instruction will be offered on trumpet, trombone, French horn, baritone or tuba. We will play music in a variety of styles, and listen regularly to recordings of great brass players.  Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals.  Students are expected to participate in two concerts per year.  Instruments are provided.  This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Fundamentals of Strings                     Year 10 credits

An introduction to string instruments, exploring a variety of styles: Classical, Mariachi, Irish and American fiddle. Students who have little or no experience on a string instrument can gain the experience necessary to move into an entry level high school ensemble. Instruction will be offered on violin, viola, cello and bass. Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals. In addition, as we study music primarily taught through oral tradition, we will learn music by ear. Students are expected to participate in two concerts per year. Instruments are provided.

This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

AP Music Theory (AP)                      Year 10 credits

This is a college level music theory course covering both written theory and ear training. This class will include the following: music theory, composition, dictation, and sight singing. This course is designed to prepare the high school musician for the Advanced Placement exam in Music Theory.  Prerequisite: Consent of teacher, working knowledge of major and minor scales and circle of fifths, ability to read music in at least two clefs.

Music Perception and Analysis IB (SL) (HL)      Year 10 credits

Musical Perception and Analysis is designed to prepare students to analyze widely diverse musical genres and styles from both a historical and a cultural perspective. Students study elemental building blocks of music (melody, harmony, rhythm, texture,form) as well as the function of music. This stream of study culminates in a study of IB prescribed works. Students study a variety of cultural topics and eras of music, as well as a study of tradition and popular music styles. Students learn how to write about music. This stream of study culminates in the Musical Links Investigation, a required element of the diploma in music. This course is designed to prepare the high school musicians for the IB diploma in music. Prerequisite: Consent of teacher, ability to read music, working knowledge of major and minor scales and circle of fifths.

Concert Chorale (P)                                                        Year · 10 Credits

This class emphasizes the fundamentals of vocal technique and performances of a varied repertoire of choral music. The class typically performs Broadway, rock, gospel, soul and art music. Students also have the opportunity to perform as soloists and small groups. The chorus performs in two concerts each year (one fall, one spring) plus a regional choral festival, also in the spring. Students do not need to read music in order to enter the class; they will learn to read as the class progresses. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Beginning/Intermediate Guitar                                      Year – 10 Credits

Students will learn chords and strumming techniques to be proficient-to-advanced guitar players using a variety of genres (pop, rock, R&B, blues, folk, etc.).  Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals. Class structure is student-centered, catering to students’ individual interests, learning style, and pace. Guitars are provided.  Any level of experience (including no experience) is welcome. Students are required to participate in two concerts per school year. P credit pending.

Jazz Lab Band I                                                 Year 10 credits

This class focuses on developing skills necessary for woodwind, brass, string, and rhythm section players to play jazz with facility.  Topics include jazz theory, history, improvisation, sight reading of typical jazz rhythms, and ensemble playing techniques for both big band and combo arrangements.  Students are required to participate in 3 concerts per year.  Prerequisite: at least 7th grade level ability to read music and play your instrument with good technique.  This class is not for beginners, but is a continuation of middle school music classes. Admission by recommendation of a middle school music teacher or by consent of the high school Jazz Director.  Because this is a performing ensemble, class size is limited to 2 each of piano/bass/vibes/guitar and drums. Unlimited woodwinds (saxes, clarinets, flutes), brass (trumpets and trombones) and strings (violins, violas, celli) are also invited! This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Jazz Lab Band II                                       Year 10 credits

In this class we continue the work begun in jazz lab I, focusing on more advanced jazz theory, improvising over more complex harmonies, sight reading more complex passages, and working to perfect harder big band arrangements.  This band performs frequently – at least 4 concerts and 2 competitive jazz festivals per year, all of which are required (calendar handed out the first day of school).  Prerequisite: all students must read music and play their instruments at a 10th grade level or higher.  Although satisfactory completion of jazz lab I is preferred, it is possible for advanced students to audition into lab II without taking lab I. Admission is by audition only, and auditions are held in early May. Instrumentation is limited to 2 each of rhythm section players (piano, guitar, vibes, bass, drums), 5 trumpets, 4 trombones, and up to 8 saxes.  On rare occasions an advanced player on a non-traditional big band instrument may be granted admission by permission of the instructor. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Jazz Ensemble                                         Year 10 credits

The Berkeley High School Jazz Ensemble is one of the top high school jazz groups in the country.  Advanced students on traditional big band instruments are encouraged to audition.  The focus of the class is on performing advanced big band charts.  Skills addressed include jazz articulation and phrasing, sight reading advanced charts, group blend and balance, developing hard swinging grooves, comping effectively, maintaining a consistent tempo, etc. Jazz theory is not directly taught in this class, which is why it is preferable that students take jazz lab classes first.  This band performs frequently – at least 6 concerts and 3 competitive festivals yearly, all of which are required (calendar handed out the first day of school).  The band tours internationally every other year, and fundraises actively. Prerequisite: Satisfactory completion of Jazz Lab II is preferred but not required.  Admission by audition only.  Class size is limited to one or two each of rhythm sections players (piano, bass, drums, guitar and vibes), 5 trumpets, 4 trombones, and 5 saxes. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

SIGNING UP FOR  CLASSES BEFORE AUDITIONS

Jazz Classes

Entering freshmen who would like to take a jazz class in 2013- 2014 should sign up for Jazz Lab I.  This class is designed for freshmen who already play an instrument and read music well.  8th graders are also welcome to audition for Jazz Lab II (our intermediate level class), and Jazz Ensemble (our advanced class) in May 2013, and if they are accepted into either of those classes counselors will change their schedules (see audition information below).  RHYTHM SECTIONS PLAYERS (pianists, drummers, guitar players, bass players) should ALL plan on taking an audition since the number of auditioners is usually so large that rhythm section spots in jazz lab I are given to students who audition for lab II but don’t make it.

 

Orchestra/Band

Entering freshmen should sign up for 1º Concert Orchestra or 1º Concert Band. This class is designed for students who have played their instrument for 3+ years and read music well. 8th graders interested in the advanced level 0º Chamber Orchestra should sign up for auditions in April by contacting Karen Wells or Mary Dougherty (see audition information below).

 

Beginners!  Signing up for Fundamentals of Music

Entering freshmen who do not play an instrument, who would like to learn a new instrument, or who play an instrument but do not yet read music well now have the opportunity to sign up for Fundamentals of Woodwinds, Strings, or Brass. Pending funding, ONE of these classes will be taught each year.  The woodwinds class offers flute, clarinet and saxophone.  Strings offers violin, viola, cello and bass.  Brass offers trumpet, trombone, euphonium, horn and tuba.  When you sign up, please list all three classes in order of preference (e.g, 1st choice  brass, 2nd choice woodwinds, 3rd choice strings). This helps us determine which class to teach each year.

 

AUDITIONS

 

Jazz Lab II and Jazz Ensemble

This spring, auditions for the 2013-2014 Jazz Lab II and Jazz Ensemble classes will be held on May 21st (bass and guitar), 23rd (woodwinds), 24th (brass), and 27th (pianos, drums and vibes) beginning at 3:30 each afternoon.  Auditions for both groups occur at the same time.  Each student gets an assigned 10 minute audition slot.  The audition will consist of a prepared piece, scales, and sight reading.  Students who would also like to demonstrate their skill at improvisation will have an opportunity to do so.  Audition materials will be posted on the BHS etree AND on the BHS Jazz website one month in advance (mid april).  Audition results will be posted by June 10th.  If you have any questions about Jazz Lab II or Jazz Ensemble auditions, please email sarahcline@berkeley.net

 

0º Chamber Orchestra (winds/strings)

Auditions for the advanced 0º Chamber Orchestra will be held at BHS on April 16, 17, and 18 beginning at 4pm. Each student gets an assigned 10 minute audition slot.  The audition will consist of scales, and audition excerpts that will be available from your middle school teacher in March. Audition materials will be posted on the BHS etree one month in advance(right after spring break).  If you have any questions about 0º Chamber Orchestra auditions, please email karenwells@berkeley.net or marydougherty@berkeley.net

 

MY CHILD IS VERY INTERESTED IN MUSIC CLASSES.  WHAT SMALL SCHOOL SHOULD S/HE SIGN UP FOR?

 

The ability of students to fit elective music classes into their schedules depends on how many required classes they must take.  These classes are listed in the beginning pages of the descriptions for each small school in the BHS course catalog.  Read these pages carefully!  Please note that if your small school requires 5 classes, besides language class, that leaves no space for other electives during the regular 1º – 6º day.  As 0º and 7º music classes are our highest level classes and require auditions, it’s unlikely that your freshman or sophomore will be able to count on taking these classes.

 

As you read through the small school descriptions, you will notice that Academic Choice has the fewest required classes, and therefore for those students for whom taking music is a priority, AC may prove to be the best way to gain access to the greatest number of music classes available.

 

Please also know that BHS will not allow you to switch small schools once you are at BHS in order to accommodate your music class schedule.  So choose a small school carefully.

 

Although AC provides the greatest access to elective classes at BHS, joining AC is not the only option for students who want to take music classes.  Parents are often dismayed to find out that their musician has not been scheduled into a music class, however, many families have found that with careful 4 year planning, students can maximize their access to the BHS music program.  Please ask your counselor or BHS music teacher to help you with this!

  • Latest Video from BHS


    BHS Promotional Video

  • Upcoming BHS Events

    Book Drives (C Bldg Gallery)
    April 25, 2017
    1:00 pm - 1:01 pm
    C Bldg Gallery
    Tennis: Boys All Levels Match vs Castro Valley (Away)
    Starts: 3:30 pm
    Ends: April 25, 2017 - 3:30 pm
    Location: Castro Valley High School
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Castro Valley
    AP Environmental Science Final Exam (Jacket Gym)
    April 25, 2017
    3:45 pm - 5:30 pm
    Jacket Gym
    Badminton: All Levels Match vs Castro Valley (Away)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 25, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Castro Valley High - Main Gym
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Castro Valley
    Book Drives (C Bldg Gallery)
    April 26, 2017
    1:00 pm - 1:01 pm
    C Bldg Gallery
    Softball: Girls Varsity Game vs Arroyo (Home)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Berkeley High School
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Arroyo
    Baseball: Boys Varsity Game vs Alameda (Home)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Berkeley High - Tim Moellering Field
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Alameda
    Softball: Girls JV Game vs Arroyo (Away)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Arroyo High School
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Arroyo
    Baseball: Boys JV Game vs Alameda (Away)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Alameda High - Lincoln Park
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Alameda
    Book Drives (C Bldg Gallery)
    April 27, 2017
    1:00 pm - 1:01 pm
    C Bldg Gallery
    Volleyball: Boys Varsity Game vs Castro Valley (Home)
    Starts: 4:15 pm
    Ends: April 27, 2017 - 4:15 pm
    Location: Berkeley High - Donahue Gym
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Castro Valley
    Badminton: All Levels Match vs Tennyson (Home)
    Starts: 4:15 pm
    Ends: April 27, 2017 - 4:15 pm
    Location: Berkeley High School - Jacket Gym
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Tennyson