Musik Abteilung

Besuchen Sie uns im Internet unter www.bhsjazz.org (Jazz) und www.bhsbao.org (Band and Orchestra)

Personal

Karen Wells (Blasorchester, Chamber Orchestra, Grundlagen der Holzbläser, AP Theory, IB Musik): karenwells@berkeley.net

Mary Dougherty (Concert Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra, Grundlagen der Streicher): marydougherty@berkeley.net

Sarah Cline (Jazz Lab I, Jazz Lab II, Jazz Ensemble, Fundamentals of Brass): sarahcline@berkeley.net

KLASSEN ANGEBOTEN

Concert Orchestra (P) Jahr 10 Credits

In diesem Einstiegsmodell Ensemble, Streicher studieren und führen sowohl String und großes Orchester Literatur sowie kleines Ensemble Musik, Entwicklung der Handwerkskunst und die Beherrschung notwendig, um Musik in einen kreativen Ausdruck zu formen. Voraussetzung: Fundamental Skill-Level auf orchestrale Streichinstrument. Bitte beachten Sie, dass 9. und 10. Klasse in der AHA oder CAS Schulen würden nicht in der Lage sein, diese Klasse wegen Terminüberschneidungen Fragen nehmen. 9th und 10. Klasse können für die 0 º Chamber Orchestra als Alternative vorsprechen. Dieser Kurs erfüllt UC / CSU Bildende und darstellende Künste (f) Anforderung.

Blasorchester (P) Jahr 10 Credits

In diesem Einstiegsklasse, Wind, Blechbläser und Schlagzeug Spieler studieren und Konzert / pep Band Literatur sowie großes Orchester Literatur, Entwicklung der Handwerkskunst und die Beherrschung notwendig, um Musik in einen kreativen Ausdruck zu formen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass 9. und 10. Klasse in der AHA oder CAS Schulen würden nicht in der Lage sein, diese Klasse wegen Terminüberschneidungen Fragen nehmen. 9th und 10. Klasse können für die 0 º Chamber Orchestra Wind Ensemble Abschnitt als Alternative vorsprechen. Voraussetzung: Fundamental Skill-Level auf Wind, Messing oder Percussion-Instrument. Dieser Kurs erfüllt UC / CSU Bildende und darstellende Künste (f) Anforderung.

Chamber Orchestra (P) Jahr 10 Credits

2 Abschnitte angeboten: Bläserensemble Abschnitt / String zusammen Abschnitt.

In diesem Ensemble vorgesprochen, oberen Ebene String, Wind, Blechbläser und Schlagzeug Spieler studieren und Orchester-und Kammermusik Literatur als geeignete, Entwicklung der Handwerkskunst und die Beherrschung notwendig, um Musik in einen kreativen Ausdruck zu formen. Studierende in diesem Ensemble können erwarten, viele Gelegenheiten zu erfüllen haben im Laufe. Voraussetzung: Audition und Lehrer Zustimmung. Dieser Kurs erfüllt UC / CSU Bildende und darstellende Künste (f) Anforderung.

Grundlagen der Holzbläser Jahr 10 Credits

In diesem Grundkurs, Studenten, die wenig oder keine Erfahrung auf einem Holzblasinstrument haben kann gewinnen die nötige Erfahrung, um in ein Einstiegs-High-School-Ensemble bewegen. Instruction auf Flöte angeboten werden, Klarinette, Saxophon, Oboe oder Fagott. Wir werden Musik in einer Vielzahl von Stilen spielen, und regelmäßig zu hören, um Aufnahmen von großer Holzbläsern. Studenten müssen nicht Noten lesen, um diese Klasse zu geben; sie lernen, als Teil der Klasse Ziele lesen. Die Studierenden sollen in zwei Konzerten pro Jahr teilnehmen. Instrumente werden zur Verfügung gestellt.

Dieser Kurs erfüllt UC / CSU Bildende und darstellende Künste (f) Anforderung.

Grundlagen der Blech Jahr 10 Credits

In diesem Grundkurs, Studenten, die wenig oder keine Erfahrung haben auf einem Blechblasinstrument können gewinnen die nötige Erfahrung, um in ein Einstiegs-High-School-Ensemble bewegen. Instruction wird an der Trompete angeboten werden, Posaune, Französisch Horn, Bariton oder Tuba. Wir werden Musik in einer Vielzahl von Stilen spielen, und regelmäßig zu hören, um Aufnahmen von großer Blechbläsern. Studenten müssen nicht Noten lesen, um diese Klasse zu geben; sie lernen, als Teil der Klasse Ziele lesen. Die Studierenden sollen in zwei Konzerten pro Jahr teilnehmen. Instrumente werden zur Verfügung gestellt. Dieser Kurs erfüllt UC / CSU Bildende und darstellende Künste (f) Anforderung.

Grundlagen der Streicher Jahr 10 Credits

Eine Einführung in die Streichinstrumente, Erforschung einer Vielzahl von Stilen: Klassische, Mariachi, Irische und amerikanische Geige. Studierende, die keine oder wenig Erfahrung auf einem Streichinstrument haben kann gewinnen die nötige Erfahrung, um in ein Einstiegs-High-School-Ensemble bewegen. Anleitung wird auf der Violine angeboten werden, lila, Cello und Bass. Studenten müssen nicht Noten lesen, um diese Klasse zu geben; sie lernen, als Teil der Klasse Ziele lesen. Außerdem, wie wir studieren Musik in erster Linie gelehrt durch mündliche Überlieferung, werden wir Musik nach Gehör lernen. Die Studierenden sollen in zwei Konzerten pro Jahr teilnehmen. Instrumente werden zur Verfügung gestellt.

Dieser Kurs erfüllt UC / CSU Bildende und darstellende Künste (f) Anforderung.

AP Musiktheorie (AP) Jahr 10 Credits

Dies ist ein College-Ebene Musiktheorie natürlich, die sowohl schriftliche Theorie und Gehörbildung. Diese Klasse wird auch die folgende: Musiktheorie, Zusammensetzung, Diktat, und das Singen vom Blatt. Dieser Kurs wurde entwickelt, um die High-School-Musiker für die Advanced Placement-Prüfung vorbereiten in Musiktheorie. Voraussetzung: Zustimmung des Lehrers, Kenntnisse in Dur und Moll und Quintenzirkel, Fähigkeit, Musik in mindestens zwei Schlüsseln lesen.

Musik Wahrnehmung und Analyse IB (SL) (HL) Jahr 10 Credits

Musikalische Wahrnehmung und Analyse wurde entwickelt, um Schüler auf sehr unterschiedlichen musikalischen Genres und Stile sowohl aus einer historischen Analyse und eine kulturelle Perspektive. Die Schüler lernen elementare Bausteine ​​der Musik (Melodie, Harmonie, Rhythmus, Textur,Form) sowie die Funktion der Musik. Dieser Strom von Studie gipfelt in einer Studie von IB vorgeschriebenen Werke. Die Schüler lernen eine Vielzahl von kulturellen Themen und Epochen der Musik, sowie eine Studie von Tradition und populäre Musikrichtungen. Die Studierenden lernen, wie man über Musik zu schreiben. Dieser Strom von Studie gipfelt in der Musical Verbindungen Investigation, ein erforderliches Element des Diploms in der Musik. Dieser Kurs wurde entwickelt, um die High-School-Musiker für das IB-Diplom in Musik vorbereiten. Voraussetzung: Zustimmung des Lehrers, Fähigkeit, Noten zu lesen, Kenntnisse in Dur und Moll und Quintenzirkel.

Concert Chorale (P) Jahr · 10 Credits

Diese Klasse betont die Grundlagen der Gesangstechnik und Performances von einem abwechslungsreichen Repertoire der Chormusik. Die Klasse führt typischerweise Broadway, Rock, Evangelium, Seele und Kunstmusik. Studenten haben auch die Möglichkeit, sich als Solisten und kleine Gruppen durchführen. Der Chor führt in zwei Konzerten pro Jahr (ein fall, eine Feder) plus eine Regional Choral Festival, auch in der Feder. Studenten müssen nicht Noten lesen, um die Klasse geben; sie lernen, zu lesen, wie die Klasse fortschreitet. Dieser Kurs erfüllt UC / CSU Bildende und darstellende Künste (f) Anforderung.

Anfang / Zwischen Gitarre Jahr – 10 Credits

Die Teilnehmer lernen, Akkorde und Schlagtechniken zu beherrschen bis fortgeschrittene Gitarristen mit einer Vielzahl von Genres sein (Pop, Rock, R&B, Blues, Folk, usw.). Studenten müssen nicht Noten lesen, um diese Klasse zu geben; sie lernen, als Teil der Klasse Ziele lesen. Klasse Struktur Studenten in den Mittelpunkt, Catering für Studenten’ individuellen Interessen, Lernstil, und das Tempo. Gitarren sind vorgesehen. Jede Ebene der Erfahrung (einschließlich keine Erfahrung) ist willkommen. Studierenden sind verpflichtet, in zwei Konzerten pro Schuljahr teilnehmen. P Kredit anhängig.

Jazz Lab Band I Jahr 10 Credits

Diese Klasse konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung von Fähigkeiten, die für Holzbläser, Messing, String, und Rhythmus Spieler Jazz mit Leichtigkeit spielen. Themen sind ua Jazztheorie, Geschichte, Improvisation, Notenlesen typischer Jazz-Rhythmen, und Ensemblespiel Techniken sowohl für Big Band und Combo-Arrangements. Die Studierenden sind verpflichtet zur Teilnahme an 3 Konzerte pro Jahr. Voraussetzung: mindestens 7. Klassenstufe Fähigkeit, Noten zu lesen und spielen Sie Ihr Instrument mit guter Technik. Diese Klasse ist nicht für Anfänger, aber ist eine Fortsetzung der Mittelschule Musikunterricht. Zulassung durch die Empfehlung einer Mittelschule Musiklehrer oder mit Zustimmung des High-School-Jazz Director. Da dies eine Durchführung Ensemble, Klassengröße ist begrenzt 2 jedes Klavier / Bass / vibes / Gitarre und Schlagzeug. Unbegrenzt Holzbläser (Saxophone, Klarinetten, Flöten), Messing (Trompeten und Posaunen) und Streicher (Geigen, Bratschen, Celli) sind ebenfalls eingeladen! Dieser Kurs erfüllt UC / CSU Bildende und darstellende Künste (f) Anforderung.

Jazz Lab Band II Jahr 10 Credits

In dieser Klasse setzen wir die Arbeit im Labor begonnen Jazz I, Schwerpunkt auf fortgeschrittenen Jazztheorie, Improvisieren über komplexere Harmonien, Notenlesen komplexeren Passagen, und arbeiten härter Big Band Arrangements zu perfektionieren. Diese Band tritt häufig - zumindest 4 Konzerte und 2 wettbewerbsfähig Jazzfestivals pro Jahr, die alle erforderlichen (Kalender überreichte den ersten Tag in der Schule). Voraussetzung: Alle Schüler müssen Noten lesen und spielen ihre Instrumente mit einer 10. Klasse oder höher. Obwohl zufriedenstellenden Abschluss des Jazz-Labor I bevorzugt, ist es möglich, für Fortgeschrittene in Labor II ohne lab ich vorsprechen. Der Eintritt ist durch Vorsprechen nur, und Auditions werden Anfang Mai stattfinden. Instrumentierung beschränkt sich auf 2 jeder der Rhythmus-Sektion Spieler (Fußboden, Gitarre, vibes, Bass, Trommeln), 5 Trompeten, 4 Posaunen, und bis zu 8 Saxophone. In seltenen Fällen ein fortgeschrittener Spieler auf einem nicht-traditionellen Big-Band-Gerät kann die Zulassung mit der Erlaubnis des Lehrers gewährt werden. Dieser Kurs erfüllt UC / CSU Bildende und darstellende Künste (f) Anforderung.

Jazz Ensemble 10 Credits

Die Berkeley Highschool Jazz Ensemble ist eines der Top-High-School-Jazz-Gruppen im Land. Fortgeschrittene Schüler auf traditionellen Big-Band-Instrumente zu Vorsprechen gefördert. Der Fokus der Klasse ist auf die Durchführung erweiterte Big Band-Charts. Fähigkeiten angesprochen sind Jazz-Artikulation und Phrasierung, Notenlesen komplexe Diagramme, Gruppe Mischung und Balance, Entwicklungsländer hart swingenden Grooves, comping effektiv, Wahrung einer durchgängigen Tempo, usw.. Jazztheorie nicht direkt in dieser Klasse gelehrt, weshalb es vorzuziehen ist, dass die Schüler Jazz Labor Klassen nehmen erste. Diese Band tritt häufig - zumindest 6 Konzerte und 3 wettbewerbsfähig Festivals jährlich, die alle erforderlichen (Kalender überreichte den ersten Tag in der Schule). Die Band tourt international jedes zweite Jahr, und fundraises aktiv. Voraussetzung: Der erfolgreiche Abschluss der Jazz Lab II wird bevorzugt, aber nicht erforderlich. Eintritt nur durch Vorsingen. Die Klassengröße ist mit einem oder zwei einzelnen Abschnitte des Rhythmus Spieler begrenzt (Fußboden, Bass, Trommeln, Gitarre und Vibraphon), 5 Trompeten, 4 Posaunen, und 5 Saxophone. Dieser Kurs erfüllt UC / CSU Bildende und darstellende Künste (f) Anforderung.

Wenn Sie sich für KLASSEN VOR AUDITIONS

Jazz Klassen

Eingabe Neulinge, die gerne eine Jazz-Klasse in nehmen würde 2013- 2014 sollten Sie sich für Jazz Lab I. Diese Klasse ist für Studienanfänger, die bereits ein Instrument spielen und Noten lesen gut gestaltet. 8Klässler sind auch willkommen, für Jazz Lab II vorsprechen (unsere Mittelstufe Klasse), und Jazz Ensemble (unsere fortgeschrittenen Klasse) Mai 2013, und wenn sie in einer dieser Klassen Berater akzeptiert wird sich ändern ihre Zeitpläne (siehe Vorsprechen Informationen unter). RHYTHM Bereiche Spieler (Pianisten, Trommler, Gitarristen, Bassisten) sollten alle planen, wobei ein Vorsprechen da die Anzahl der auditioners ist in der Regel so groß, dass Rhythmus-Sektion Spots in Jazz Labor I für Studierende, die für Labor-II vorsprechen sind gegeben, aber machen es nicht.

Orchester / Band

Eingabe Neulinge sollten Sie sich für 1 º Concert Orchestra oder 1 º Blasorchester. Diese Klasse ist für Studierende, die ihr Instrument gespielt haben entworfen 3+ Jahre und gut Noten lesen. 8Fünftklässler in der Oberstufe 0 º Chamber Orchestra interessiert sind, sollten sich für Castings im April durch Kontaktierung Karen Wells oder Mary Dougherty (siehe Vorsprechen Informationen unter).

Anfänger! Anmeldung für Grundlagen der Musik

Eingabe Neulinge, die nicht spielen ein Instrument, wer möchte ein neues Instrument lernen, oder wer ein Instrument spielen, aber noch nicht Noten lesen und haben jetzt die Gelegenheit, um sich für Grundlagen der Holzbläser, Streicher, oder Messing. Ausstehend Finanzierung, Einer dieser Klassen vermittelt jedes Jahr. Das Holzbläser-Klasse bietet Flöte, Klarinette und Saxophon. Streicher bietet Geige, lila, Cello und Bass. Messing bietet Trompete, Posaune, Euphonium, Horn und Tuba. Wenn Sie sich anmelden, Bitte führen Sie alle drei Klassen in der Reihenfolge ihrer Präferenz (e.g, 1st Wahl Messing, 2nd Wahl Holzbläser, 3rd Wahl Saiten). Dies hilft uns, zu bestimmen, welche Klasse zu unterrichten jedes Jahr.

AUDITIONS

Jazz Ensemble und Jazz Lab II

In diesem Frühjahr, Auditions für die 2013-2014 Jazz Lab II und Jazz Ensemble Klassen werden am 21. Mai statt (Bass und Gitarre), 23RD (Holzbläser), 24th (Messing), und 27. (Klaviere, Schlagzeug und Vibraphon) beginnend 3:30 jeden Nachmittag. Castings beiden Gruppen in der gleichen Zeit auftreten,. Jeder Schüler erhält eine zugewiesene 10 Minute Vorsprechen Schlitz. Das Vorsingen wird von einer vorbereiteten Stück bestehen, Skalen, und Notenlesen. Studierende, die würde auch gerne von Beginn an zeigen, Improvisation eine Gelegenheit, dies zu tun. Audition Materialien werden auf der BHS etree UND auf der BHS Jazz Website einen Monat im Voraus gebucht werden (Mitte April). Audition-Ergebnisse werden von 10. Juni veröffentlicht werden. Wenn Sie Fragen zu Jazz Lab II oder Jazz Ensemble Castings haben, bitte E-Mail sarahcline@berkeley.net

0º Chamber Orchestra (Winden / strings)

Auditions for the advanced 0º Chamber Orchestra will be held at BHS on Mai 8,9,10 beginnend 4pm. Jeder Schüler erhält eine zugewiesene 10 Minute Vorsprechen Schlitz. Das Vorsingen wird von Skalen bestehen, and audition excerpts that will be available from your middle school teacher at the beginning of April . Audition materials will also be posted on the BHS etree one month in advance(direkt nach spring break). Wenn Sie Fragen zu 0 º Chamber Orchestra Auditions haben, bitte E-Mail karenwells@berkeley.net oder marydougherty@berkeley.net

Mein Kind ist sehr daran interessiert, Musikunterricht. Was Small Schule sollte er / REGISTRIEREN?

Die Fähigkeit der Studierenden zum Wahlfach Musik-Klassen in ihre Zeitpläne passen abhängt, wie viele Klassen benötigt sie müssen. Diese Klassen werden in den Anfangsseiten der Beschreibungen für jeden kleinen Schule in der BHS-Vorlesungsverzeichnis aufgeführt. Lesen Sie diese Seiten aufmerksam! Bitte beachten Sie, dass, wenn Ihre kleine Schule erfordert 5 Klassen, neben Sprachunterricht, das lässt keinen Platz für andere Wahlfächer während der regulären 1 º – 6º day. Wie 0 º und 7 º Musikklassen sind unsere Level-Klassen erfordern höchste und Auditions, es ist unwahrscheinlich, dass Ihr Neuling oder Sophomore können auf die Einnahme dieser Klassen zählen.

Wie Sie lesen durch die kleine Schule Beschreibungen, Sie werden feststellen, dass die wenigsten Academic Wahl erforderlichen Klassen hat, und damit für die Studierenden, für die unter Musik ist eine Priorität, AC kann sich als der beste Weg, um den Zugriff auf die größte Anzahl von Musik-Klassen verfügbar zu gewinnen.

Bitte beachten Sie auch wissen, dass die BHS wird Ihnen nicht erlauben, um kleine Schulen wechseln, wenn Sie an BHS, um Ihre Musik Stundenplan unterzubringen sind. So wählen Sie eine kleine Schule sorgfältig.

Obwohl AC bietet die größte Zugang zu Wahlfächer bei BHS, Verbinden AC ist nicht die einzige Option für Studenten, die Musikunterricht nehmen wollen. Eltern sind oft entsetzt zu erfahren, dass ihre Musiker nicht in eine Musik-Klasse geplant, jedoch, viele Familien haben festgestellt, dass mit einer sorgfältigen 4 Jahres-Planung, Studenten können maximieren ihren Zugang zum BHS Musikprogramm. Bitte fragen Sie Ihren Berater oder BHS Musiklehrer, um Ihnen dabei zu helfen!

  • Neueste Video von BHS


    BHS Promotional Video

  • Upcoming BHS Events

    Admin. Meeting: Leaders of Color Network (8-10 am)
    Dezember 10, 2018
    8:00 am - 10:00 am
    CCC D-221
    BSEP Committee: Bibliothek
    Dezember 10, 2018
    4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
    BAF Meeting: Bibliothek
    Dezember 10, 2018
    7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
    Black Girls Rise
    Dezember 11, 2018
    3:45 pm - 5:00 pm
    Room D218
    SSC Meeting (Konf Rm B,en)
    Dezember 11, 2018
    4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
    BHS- Konferenzraum B
    Basketball: Boys F/S Game vs Las Lomas (Nach Hause)
    Startet: 4:00 pm
    Enden: Dezember 11, 2018 - 4:00 pm
    Lage: Berkeley Hoch - Donahue Gym
    Beschreibung: Type: nonconference Opponent: Las Lomas
    Fußball: Mädchen JV Spiel gegen Arroyo (Nach Hause)
    Startet: 4:00 pm
    Enden: Dezember 11, 2018 - 4:00 pm
    Lage: Berkeley High School - Jacket Stadium
    Beschreibung: Type: conference Opponent: Arroyo
    Basketball: Boys JV Game vs Las Lomas (Nach Hause)
    Startet: 5:30 pm
    Enden: Dezember 11, 2018 - 5:30 pm
    Lage: Berkeley Hoch - Donahue Gym
    Beschreibung: Type: nonconference Opponent: Las Lomas
    Fußball: Girls Varsity Game vs Arroyo (Nach Hause)
    Startet: 6:00 pm
    Enden: Dezember 11, 2018 - 6:00 pm
    Lage: Berkeley High School - Jacket Stadium
    Beschreibung: Type: conference Opponent: Arroyo
    BOLD meeting: CCC
    Dezember 11, 2018
    6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
    Basketball: Boys Varsity Game vs Las Lomas (Nach Hause)
    Startet: 7:00 pm
    Enden: Dezember 11, 2018 - 7:00 pm
    Lage: Berkeley Hoch - Donahue Gym
    Beschreibung: Type: nonconference Opponent: Las Lomas
    Open Gym Basketball (Jacket Gym)
    Dezember 12, 2018
    11:30 am - 12:20 pm
    Jacket Gym

Music Department

Visit us online at www.bhsjazz.org

Staff

Karen Wells (Concert Band, Chamber Orchestra, Fundamentals of Woodwinds, AP Theory, IB Music):  karenwells@berkeley.net

Mary Dougherty (Concert Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra, Fundamentals of Strings): marydougherty@berkeley.net

Sarah Cline (Jazz Lab I, Jazz Lab II, Jazz Ensemble, Fundamentals of Brass): sarahcline@berkeley.net

Steffanie Schaeffer (Concert Chorale) steffaniescheffer@berkeley.net

Peter Gidlund (Beginning/Intermediate Guitar) petergidlund@berkeley.net

 

 CLASSES OFFERED

Concert Orchestra (P)                     Year  10 credits

In this entry level ensemble, string players study and perform both string and full orchestra literature as well as small ensemble music, developing the craftsmanship and mastery necessary to mold music into a creative expression. Prerequisite: Fundamental skill level on orchestral string instrument. Please be aware that 9th and 10th graders in the AHA or CAS schools would not be able to take this class due to scheduling issues. 9th and 10th graders can audition for the 0º Chamber Orchestra as an alternative. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

 

Concert Band (P)                          Year 10 credits

In this entry level class, wind, brass and percussion players study and perform concert/pep band literature as well as full orchestra literature, developing the craftsmanship and mastery necessary to mold music into a creative expression. Please be aware that 9th and 10th graders in the AHA or CAS schools would not be able to take this class due to scheduling issues. 9th and 10th graders can audition for the 0º Chamber Orchestra Wind Ensemble Section as an alternative. Prerequisite: Fundamental skill level on wind, brass or percussion instrument. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Chamber Orchestra (P)                     Year 10 credits

2 sections offered: Wind ensemble section/ String ensemble section.

In this auditioned ensemble, upper level string, wind, brass and percussion players study and perform orchestral and chamber literature as appropriate, developing the craftsmanship and mastery necessary to mold music into a creative expression. Students in this ensemble can expect to have many opportunites to perform throughout the course. Prerequisite: Audition and teacher consent. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Fundamentals of Woodwinds                Year 10 credits

In this basic class, students who have little or no experience on a woodwind instrument can gain the experience necessary to move into an entry level high school ensemble. Instruction will be offered on flute, clarinet, saxophone, oboe or bassoon. We will play music in a variety of styles, and listen regularly to recordings of great woodwind players. Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals. Students are expected to participate in two concerts per year. Instruments are provided.

This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Fundamentals of Brass                                        Year 10 credits

In this basic class, students who have little or no experience on a brass instrument can gain the experience necessary to move into an entry level high school ensemble. Instruction will be offered on trumpet, trombone, French horn, baritone or tuba. We will play music in a variety of styles, and listen regularly to recordings of great brass players.  Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals.  Students are expected to participate in two concerts per year.  Instruments are provided.  This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Fundamentals of Strings                     Year 10 credits

An introduction to string instruments, exploring a variety of styles: Classical, Mariachi, Irish and American fiddle. Students who have little or no experience on a string instrument can gain the experience necessary to move into an entry level high school ensemble. Instruction will be offered on violin, viola, cello and bass. Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals. In addition, as we study music primarily taught through oral tradition, we will learn music by ear. Students are expected to participate in two concerts per year. Instruments are provided.

This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

AP Music Theory (AP)                      Year 10 credits

This is a college level music theory course covering both written theory and ear training. This class will include the following: music theory, composition, dictation, and sight singing. This course is designed to prepare the high school musician for the Advanced Placement exam in Music Theory.  Prerequisite: Consent of teacher, working knowledge of major and minor scales and circle of fifths, ability to read music in at least two clefs.

Music Perception and Analysis IB (SL) (HL)      Year 10 credits

Musical Perception and Analysis is designed to prepare students to analyze widely diverse musical genres and styles from both a historical and a cultural perspective. Students study elemental building blocks of music (melody, harmony, rhythm, texture,form) as well as the function of music. This stream of study culminates in a study of IB prescribed works. Students study a variety of cultural topics and eras of music, as well as a study of tradition and popular music styles. Students learn how to write about music. This stream of study culminates in the Musical Links Investigation, a required element of the diploma in music. This course is designed to prepare the high school musicians for the IB diploma in music. Prerequisite: Consent of teacher, ability to read music, working knowledge of major and minor scales and circle of fifths.

Concert Chorale (P)                                                        Year · 10 Credits

This class emphasizes the fundamentals of vocal technique and performances of a varied repertoire of choral music. The class typically performs Broadway, rock, gospel, soul and art music. Students also have the opportunity to perform as soloists and small groups. The chorus performs in two concerts each year (one fall, one spring) plus a regional choral festival, also in the spring. Students do not need to read music in order to enter the class; they will learn to read as the class progresses. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Beginning/Intermediate Guitar                                      Year – 10 Credits

Students will learn chords and strumming techniques to be proficient-to-advanced guitar players using a variety of genres (pop, rock, R&B, blues, folk, etc.).  Students do not need to read music in order to enter this class; they will learn to read as part of the class goals. Class structure is student-centered, catering to students’ individual interests, learning style, and pace. Guitars are provided.  Any level of experience (including no experience) is welcome. Students are required to participate in two concerts per school year. P credit pending.

Jazz Lab Band I                                                 Year 10 credits

This class focuses on developing skills necessary for woodwind, brass, string, and rhythm section players to play jazz with facility.  Topics include jazz theory, history, improvisation, sight reading of typical jazz rhythms, and ensemble playing techniques for both big band and combo arrangements.  Students are required to participate in 3 concerts per year.  Prerequisite: at least 7th grade level ability to read music and play your instrument with good technique.  This class is not for beginners, but is a continuation of middle school music classes. Admission by recommendation of a middle school music teacher or by consent of the high school Jazz Director.  Because this is a performing ensemble, class size is limited to 2 each of piano/bass/vibes/guitar and drums. Unlimited woodwinds (saxes, clarinets, flutes), brass (trumpets and trombones) and strings (violins, violas, celli) are also invited! This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Jazz Lab Band II                                       Year 10 credits

In this class we continue the work begun in jazz lab I, focusing on more advanced jazz theory, improvising over more complex harmonies, sight reading more complex passages, and working to perfect harder big band arrangements.  This band performs frequently – at least 4 concerts and 2 competitive jazz festivals per year, all of which are required (calendar handed out the first day of school).  Prerequisite: all students must read music and play their instruments at a 10th grade level or higher.  Although satisfactory completion of jazz lab I is preferred, it is possible for advanced students to audition into lab II without taking lab I. Admission is by audition only, and auditions are held in early May. Instrumentation is limited to 2 each of rhythm section players (piano, guitar, vibes, bass, drums), 5 trumpets, 4 trombones, and up to 8 saxes.  On rare occasions an advanced player on a non-traditional big band instrument may be granted admission by permission of the instructor. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

Jazz Ensemble                                         Year 10 credits

The Berkeley High School Jazz Ensemble is one of the top high school jazz groups in the country.  Advanced students on traditional big band instruments are encouraged to audition.  The focus of the class is on performing advanced big band charts.  Skills addressed include jazz articulation and phrasing, sight reading advanced charts, group blend and balance, developing hard swinging grooves, comping effectively, maintaining a consistent tempo, etc. Jazz theory is not directly taught in this class, which is why it is preferable that students take jazz lab classes first.  This band performs frequently – at least 6 concerts and 3 competitive festivals yearly, all of which are required (calendar handed out the first day of school).  The band tours internationally every other year, and fundraises actively. Prerequisite: Satisfactory completion of Jazz Lab II is preferred but not required.  Admission by audition only.  Class size is limited to one or two each of rhythm sections players (piano, bass, drums, guitar and vibes), 5 trumpets, 4 trombones, and 5 saxes. This course fulfills UC/CSU Visual and Performing Arts (f) requirement.

SIGNING UP FOR  CLASSES BEFORE AUDITIONS

Jazz Classes

Entering freshmen who would like to take a jazz class in 2013- 2014 should sign up for Jazz Lab I.  This class is designed for freshmen who already play an instrument and read music well.  8th graders are also welcome to audition for Jazz Lab II (our intermediate level class), and Jazz Ensemble (our advanced class) in May 2013, and if they are accepted into either of those classes counselors will change their schedules (see audition information below).  RHYTHM SECTIONS PLAYERS (pianists, drummers, guitar players, bass players) should ALL plan on taking an audition since the number of auditioners is usually so large that rhythm section spots in jazz lab I are given to students who audition for lab II but don’t make it.

 

Orchestra/Band

Entering freshmen should sign up for 1º Concert Orchestra or 1º Concert Band. This class is designed for students who have played their instrument for 3+ years and read music well. 8th graders interested in the advanced level 0º Chamber Orchestra should sign up for auditions in April by contacting Karen Wells or Mary Dougherty (see audition information below).

 

Beginners!  Signing up for Fundamentals of Music

Entering freshmen who do not play an instrument, who would like to learn a new instrument, or who play an instrument but do not yet read music well now have the opportunity to sign up for Fundamentals of Woodwinds, Strings, or Brass. Pending funding, ONE of these classes will be taught each year.  The woodwinds class offers flute, clarinet and saxophone.  Strings offers violin, viola, cello and bass.  Brass offers trumpet, trombone, euphonium, horn and tuba.  When you sign up, please list all three classes in order of preference (e.g, 1st choice  brass, 2nd choice woodwinds, 3rd choice strings). This helps us determine which class to teach each year.

 

AUDITIONS

 

Jazz Lab II and Jazz Ensemble

This spring, auditions for the 2013-2014 Jazz Lab II and Jazz Ensemble classes will be held on May 21st (bass and guitar), 23rd (woodwinds), 24th (brass), and 27th (pianos, drums and vibes) beginning at 3:30 each afternoon.  Auditions for both groups occur at the same time.  Each student gets an assigned 10 minute audition slot.  The audition will consist of a prepared piece, scales, and sight reading.  Students who would also like to demonstrate their skill at improvisation will have an opportunity to do so.  Audition materials will be posted on the BHS etree AND on the BHS Jazz website one month in advance (mid april).  Audition results will be posted by June 10th.  If you have any questions about Jazz Lab II or Jazz Ensemble auditions, please email sarahcline@berkeley.net

 

0º Chamber Orchestra (winds/strings)

Auditions for the advanced 0º Chamber Orchestra will be held at BHS on April 16, 17, and 18 beginning at 4pm. Each student gets an assigned 10 minute audition slot.  The audition will consist of scales, and audition excerpts that will be available from your middle school teacher in March. Audition materials will be posted on the BHS etree one month in advance(right after spring break).  If you have any questions about 0º Chamber Orchestra auditions, please email karenwells@berkeley.net or marydougherty@berkeley.net

 

MY CHILD IS VERY INTERESTED IN MUSIC CLASSES.  WHAT SMALL SCHOOL SHOULD S/HE SIGN UP FOR?

 

The ability of students to fit elective music classes into their schedules depends on how many required classes they must take.  These classes are listed in the beginning pages of the descriptions for each small school in the BHS course catalog.  Read these pages carefully!  Please note that if your small school requires 5 classes, besides language class, that leaves no space for other electives during the regular 1º – 6º day.  As 0º and 7º music classes are our highest level classes and require auditions, it’s unlikely that your freshman or sophomore will be able to count on taking these classes.

 

As you read through the small school descriptions, you will notice that Academic Choice has the fewest required classes, and therefore for those students for whom taking music is a priority, AC may prove to be the best way to gain access to the greatest number of music classes available.

 

Please also know that BHS will not allow you to switch small schools once you are at BHS in order to accommodate your music class schedule.  So choose a small school carefully.

 

Although AC provides the greatest access to elective classes at BHS, joining AC is not the only option for students who want to take music classes.  Parents are often dismayed to find out that their musician has not been scheduled into a music class, however, many families have found that with careful 4 year planning, students can maximize their access to the BHS music program.  Please ask your counselor or BHS music teacher to help you with this!

  • Latest Video from BHS


    BHS Promotional Video

  • Upcoming BHS Events

    Book Drives (C Bldg Gallery)
    April 25, 2017
    1:00 pm - 1:01 pm
    C Bldg Gallery
    Tennis: Boys All Levels Match vs Castro Valley (Away)
    Starts: 3:30 pm
    Ends: April 25, 2017 - 3:30 pm
    Location: Castro Valley High School
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Castro Valley
    AP Environmental Science Final Exam (Jacket Gym)
    April 25, 2017
    3:45 pm - 5:30 pm
    Jacket Gym
    Badminton: All Levels Match vs Castro Valley (Away)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 25, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Castro Valley High - Main Gym
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Castro Valley
    Book Drives (C Bldg Gallery)
    April 26, 2017
    1:00 pm - 1:01 pm
    C Bldg Gallery
    Softball: Girls Varsity Game vs Arroyo (Home)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Berkeley High School
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Arroyo
    Baseball: Boys Varsity Game vs Alameda (Home)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Berkeley High - Tim Moellering Field
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Alameda
    Softball: Girls JV Game vs Arroyo (Away)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Arroyo High School
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Arroyo
    Baseball: Boys JV Game vs Alameda (Away)
    Starts: 4:00 pm
    Ends: April 26, 2017 - 4:00 pm
    Location: Alameda High - Lincoln Park
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Alameda
    Book Drives (C Bldg Gallery)
    April 27, 2017
    1:00 pm - 1:01 pm
    C Bldg Gallery
    Volleyball: Boys Varsity Game vs Castro Valley (Home)
    Starts: 4:15 pm
    Ends: April 27, 2017 - 4:15 pm
    Location: Berkeley High - Donahue Gym
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Castro Valley
    Badminton: All Levels Match vs Tennyson (Home)
    Starts: 4:15 pm
    Ends: April 27, 2017 - 4:15 pm
    Location: Berkeley High School - Jacket Gym
    Description: Type: conference Opponent: Tennyson